Awarded films of the 27. Animafest Zagreb

Grand Competition – Short Film jury, consisting of Michaela Pavlatova, Rosto, Amid Amidi, Nobuaki Doi and Marko Tadić decided to give the Grand Prix - Short Film to the film Nighthawk by Špela Čadež.

'This seemingly simple but surprisingly complex film adds a new layer to a traditional animation technique of multiplane cut-out. It uses parallel storytelling to switch between different perceptions to effectively create an extremely engaging tragedy of a man/animal.' stated the jury about the film.

The same jury awarded The Golden Zagreb Award for creativity and innovative artistic achievement to Jonathan Vinel for his film Martin Cries (France, AKA Productions). Zlatko Grgić Award for the best first film made outside of an educational institution was awarded to Swedish-Estonian film Amalimbo (Fasad, Fork Film Animation Studio, Film Väst) by Juan Pablo Libossart.

Each of the jury members also presented one special mention award.  Michaela Pavlatova gave the award to the Finnish film Sore Eyes For Infinity, by Elli Vuorinen. Rosto was particularly impressed with the Spanish film Orogenesis by the French director Boris Labbé. Amid Amidi singled out the Canadian film Change by Jonathan Ostrem. Nobuaki Doi, on the other hand, selected the German film Ugly by Nikita Diakur. Lastly, Marko Tadić presented his special mention award to Eva Cvijanović for Canadian-Croatian Hedgehog's Home.

By the decision of Grand Competition - Feature Film jury consisting of Natalia LukinykhBen Mitchell and Simon Bogojević Narath, Grand Prix – Feature Film went to Red Turtle (France, Belgium Japan), by Michaël Dudok de Wit, produced by seven companies led by Ghibli and Wild Bunch studios. Jury explained their decision: 'While the decision to award one film out of many works of astonishingly high-quality is inevitably a difficult one, the film that we feel most deserving of the Grand Prize reached us all for the same reasons. Driven by absolutely masterful animation executed by a team of artists with a staggering attention to detail and character performance, this film boasts a joyful interplay between its visuals and a divine orchestral score. As a celebration of both the unforgiving brutality of nature, as well as its life-affirming beauty that lingers with the audience for long after, we're delighted to award the feature film Grand Prix to Michael Dudok de Wit, The Red turtle.'

The same jury also awarded their special mention award to Louise by the Shore (France, Canada) by Jean-François Laguionie and The Girl Without Hands (France) by Sébastien Laudenbach.

Student Film Competition and Croatian Film Competition jury consisting of Alberto VázquezJana Jakoubek and Sandra Malenica decided to give Dušan Vukotić Award for the best student film to Polish film Pussy by Renata Gąsiorowska, made at National Film School in Lodz.

The same jury also decided to award special mentions to films Summer's Puke is Winter's Delight (Japan, Tama Art University) by Sawako Kabuki and My Father's Room (South Korea, K'ARTS) by Nari Jang.

Best Croatian Film of this year's Animafest is Manivald by Chintis Lundgren, made by Estonian-Croatian-Canadian co-production (Chintis Lundgreni Animatsioonistuudio / Adriatic Animation / NFB), while the special mention went to Božidar Trkulja for The Last Quest, produced by Zagreb film, and Michaela Müller, who received Special Mention for Best Minority Stake Croatian Film for Airport (Switzerland / Croatia, Schick Productions, Kinorama).

Vesna Meštrić, Leila Topić and Daniel Šuljić were the ones to decide on the award for the best site-specific animation, Animation goes MSU! that went to Paul Fletcher for The Drive to Work (Australia). The jury also decided to award special mention to The Climate (Croatia) by the art collective M_1300 consisting of Marita Stanić and Maja Blažek.

Winners of the Films for Children Competition were selected by the jury consisting of Gita Validžić RožmanTin GregorićVid ValkajMatea Bračko and Jan Kožić, and the award for the Best film for children was unanimously awarded to the film Leave a print (United Kingdom), by Christine Susanne Nerland. The jury also gave special mention to the Norwegian film Odd is an Egg, by Kristin Ulseth.

Lastly, Mr. M - Short Film audience award went to Eva Cvijanović for her film Hedgehog's Home, while the Mr. M - Feature Film audience award will travel to Claude Barras in Switzerland for his film My Life as a Courgette (Switzerland / France).

Ova internetska stranica koristi kolačiće (cookies) za potrebe analize statistike posjeta. Pri tome se ne prikupljaju niti obrađuju osobni podaci. Korištenjem stranice prihvaćate i njene uvjete korištenja.